MY TRYST WITH THE WEB

15139236_1177244715702878_927849687_n_edited

I touched my first computer when I was 3 years old (I broke that an hour later). I remember spending time in my own secluded world playing games, watching videos and creating my own stories using the fancy tools on it. I remember fighting dragons while killing demons and racing bikers with chains. Back then the internet took a long time to connect and it didn’t even work most of the time. I crossed my fingers as the ‘connecting’ sign appeared and cheered when it connected. The internet was slow, but I remember searching google for pictures of my favourite fictional characters so I can print them out.

The internet has changed a lot since then. I learnt about the world around me and met people from countries and cities I’ve never been to. I learnt how there are many more like me; that I am far from unique, and also how comforting that knowledge is.

I still play games and fight dragons but with much more detailed graphics

The internet doesn’t close you off from the world as it might seem. It opens your eyes and lets you know more about yourself, if you know where to look.

The internet has become a really scary place over the years, and also the most beautiful place there is, if it can be called one.

In the end, I am happy I touched that desktop, a bit sad I broke it though.

-ANUSHA CHATTOPADHYAY

Leave a Reply

